//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

My testimony before the Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration

Late last month I had the privilege of speaking before the Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration at Parliament.  The focus of my presentation was on Bill C-6, and I both what I felt was missing from the Bill, as well as what I disagreed with within the Bill.

First, I spoke about the lack of acknowledgement of recommendation 94 of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.  This recommendations was to have new Canadian citizens vow to respect the laws of Canada, and included in that, Canada’s treaties with indigenous peoples.

Second, I spoke about the recent “hot issue” of revoking citizenship from individuals convicted of acts of terror.  It was my recommendation that the law remains in place, but that it is done so in a manner that reflects the protections provided to anyone convicted of a crime in Canada.

My testimony, and the rest of the transcript of the day, can be found here.  For more on the issues that I spoke about, see my recent CBC articles here and here.

*This blog was co-written by Leanne Verreault, immigration legal assistant.

 

About Reis Pagtakhan

Reis Pagtakhan is an immigration law partner with MLT Aikins LLP. His extensive experience includes assisting businesses obtain temporary entry to Canada and permanent residency for their executives, employees and contractors from all over the world. Reis has lectured on and written papers on immigration law for the Law Society of Manitoba, the Manitoba Bar Association, the Human Resources Management Association of Manitoba, the Canadian Corporate Counsel Association, and the Community Legal Education Association of Manitoba. He has presented position papers before the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration, Immigration Department officials and Manitoba Labour and Immigration. He has written articles on immigration for the CBC, the Winnipeg Free Press, trade, industry and ethnic publications.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

